Little Sparks

octobershellrummel2

It’s a sleepy, quiet, solitary day of painting back in my studio.  I am paying close attention to those little sparks within…I find I often come back to drawing/painting figurative works. I am drawn to faces, necks, hair and lips. I don’t always get the lines or the proportion right, but there is something familiar and pleasing just in the trying. I do often use photographs for reference but more often than not, at some point in the process I veer far off reference point and just let my hand and imagination lead the way. Always an element of organic abstraction… intricate detailing…watery colors, controlled… and yet, I do try to let watercolors just be watercolors and do their thing, too. It’s the sweetest dance between ink and water and although she doesn’t look like me, she becomes a true portrait of me at my creative happiest…

In this moment, I am fulfilled.

Original Ink and watercolor painting… ©Michelle Rummel / Shellartistree LLC  / Shellrummel.com

2 thoughts on “Little Sparks

  1. Hello Shell.
    A beautiful piece (like it always is…).
    Also, I always see your posts: here, Twitter & Facebook… I noticed you’ve been drawing faces that seem to have asian facial features.
    Maybe it’s just me… but they seem nice! :-)

    I really am attracted to the color palette you always choose…
    Have a nice week.
    José

Leave a Reply

