Time…

February10

The passage of time often feels hazy to me…Wasn’t it just the New Year? March marches nearer and with it, my design trip to NYC for Spring Market week and the launch of three more of my bedding /bath collections. There was a brief quiet lull in January but my design and travel schedule is beginning to ramp up again, I feel it. I am trying to gather and hold the energy needed for it all. {Breathe, Shell…}

In the midst of winter, I do my best to honor all the moments that come, instead of aching for time to move faster towards warmer months. Inside the warm cocoon of my studio, I am wrapped in light,… and although some days seem to stretch endlessly on, most are quite lovely when surrounded by that which fulfills. In those moments, time stands still.

Some new work has been coming from the brush and pen lately… a few surprises along the way, I do love when that happens. Like the one above, for example… it’s part of a series of paintings that all have a similar thread running through them. I l enjoy the visual continuity of a collection… subtle patterning that leads the eye. This one has the potential to be more, I think… so maybe it’s just a study. Time will tell.

A friend of mine from years back resurfaced in recent weeks. Along with a new website was the reposting of a featured blog post he had long ago written about me and my art. What a pleasure to re read those words. I remember feeling so honored at the time, and I still do. The article focused solely on his own reaction to my work. I felt such pride…I value deeply, that rare gift of feeling understood. The art and poetry he chose to share and write about was typical of my portfolio at the time. Interesting to me to see the ways my art has changed (and not changed) over the last 5 years.  I love being able to see that evolution. I invite you to read the post, here.

Original ink and Watercolor ©Michelle Rummel

2 thoughts on “Time…

  1. i imagine you, bursting from your cocoon, into the miracle of days ahead … do what you should do, you’ll have the energy for it. x tony

Leave a Reply

