Subtle Shift ~

Subtle Shift ~

Feeling something  pulsing just beneath skin. It’s been faintly felt for some time and I am beginning to see it in the lines of my art…

There is often a divergence between the art I design for my licensing clients and the art I create just for me. But there is subtle change at play here, for both, in the way the paint is flowing off the brush, the way my hand is moving across the page, the way I want to lay down ink. The gap is closing and in some cases the overlap is quite visible to me.

This happens from time to time…this particular heartbeat within, and I know from experience that it is a feeling to honor. So I’m breathing through it, trying to find the balance and harmony between line, color, creative play and design work so that new art can evolve freely, as it needs to…and as it should.

Wondering…do you see a subtle shift, too?

Original ink and watercolor ©Michelle Rummel

2 thoughts on “Subtle Shift ~

  1. Not surprising given the pressures on your time and creative flow…but agree that there is nothing to be gained by resisting and wrestling with it…literally going with the flow seems the right thing to do
    I think I can see what you mean…it feels like the work above is a condensed thing…like the essence of your art
    Maybe like abstracting your own abstraction
    As always I recognise and love those essential elements that go to make the beautiful pictures that you create
    …and always look forward to the bringing to fruition a new addition :)))

  2. Hard to express, David, more a feeling within…still forming. I’m going with it…trying to carve out a little more time to play so that the art can evolve. It needs room and space for that… So happy to have your words here…glad you conquered the WordPress demons;))

Leave a Reply

