I Just Need a Moment ~

I Just Need a Moment ~

“As happens sometimes, a moment settled and hovered and remained for much more than a moment. And sound stopped and movement stopped for much, much more than a moment.” ~ John Steinbeck

Painted a couple of years ago and intended as a quick study…a loose play of graphite line and a splash of watercolor on paper, a moment was all it took to capture the essence of what I was feeling. The camera wasn’t so lucky….paper saturated, buckled, like my knees and so you’ll simply have to imagine it more cleanly than the shadowy image actually presents here.

The night I painted this, I fell asleep with still images of this painting scrolling through my mind. I saw this piece and others like it, large…larger than anything I have ever painted before. A big canvas, with her colors splashed and dripping and flowing. It’s been years since I’ve painted with acrylics or oils, but I can’t help but feel like this was a clear sign leading the way…time will tell. Anyone who knows me well knows that I tend to shy away from clearly marked paths. Sometimes, it’s hard to be me.

*I just need a moment…*

I have uttered this phrase often in my real world life…significant, those 5 words, when spoken. Please let me catch my breath, refocus my mind, regain clarity, pause….or…float;) a while in peace. We all have these moments, they are not mine alone. Universal, I believe, the overwhelming need to occasionally lay down in the clay… let your colors drip and flow and let the earth absorb your raw emotion and cradle you, for just a moment…or two.

Original Watercolor ©Michelle Rummel

7 thoughts on “I Just Need a Moment ~

  1. Feel I recall this piece/peace but maybe it reminds me of one from before…you have a very natural way with figurative work… Often languid peace seekers/getters…often got a feel that they are a sign of your own strive for peace :)
    It’s about time – I mean making time…finding time…prioritising and choosing…but for me a few things come to mind…
    Yes you need time and peace to create…yes inspiration but life seems to share lots with you…
    But while there is a discipline in forcing yourself to paint and draw I certainly find the best paths are found without looking for them
    One second you are lost and searching…often I give in at times with a hint of despair…and as soon as I let go often it is then the path reveals itself somehow!
    Anyway…that said you inspire me…and there is a contagion in inspiration :)))

    • Yes, you’ve seen this one before David…was on the old Posterous blog, once upon a time.
      It’s true that often the path shows itself, the energy and light returns…when we let go of the reigns a bit. Not always easy. Striving for peace…always.

  2. There is a dual element of surrender and desperation that this painting evokes. I can relate. Life can be exhausting and utterly disappointing and in those moments we can either let go an accept what is or hold on for dear life while clinging to our misery. Great painting Shell!

Leave a Reply

