New Terrain

New Terrain

You posing for me
Brush caressing paper
Paint flowing freely
Following the flow of your form
You slipping away
Leaving the tracery of our sweet conspiracy…

~ words by @artvaughan

November, 2010….

I have always admired figurative painters…am drawn to the languid lines of the body, the shapes and shadows at play. There are so many artists who do this with such elegance and ease…I am always in awe (yes…. @jerryshawback I am speaking about you) yet I’ve been so fearful of exploring this unknown terrain. I’ve always been more comfortable when imagining the human form in natural elements of the landscape around me, such as seeing the feminine in the curvy bark of a tree, the sway of hips in the flowing hillside or female grace in the rolling ocean waves. I believe I capture abstracted human elements well in my own style. But I have shied away from actually attempting to paint/capture the human body. Until now. Initially inspired by a stunning black and white photograph of a reclining nude that I saw on Chris Weige’s Posterous ( @Reckon ) I picked up a pencil and began to sketch. I asked my friend @artvaughan, an accomplished poet, for some inspirational poetic words to keep the Muse close at hand. His words came through just as I was completing my watercolor…I read them and went silent. Evocative prose, capturing my very loose sketch and watercolor play with an eerie clarity, I felt. Those words made me smile and are the serendipitous catalyst behind my willingness to share my first attempt at figurative painting.

Original Watercolor ©Michelle Rummel

Leave a Reply

