Quicksand

September 11, 2009
Artistically speaking, lately I’ve been feeling like I’m stuck in quicksand….

Wanting to break free from my usual painting style, I tried to work on some new ideas that had been swirling around in my head. But, each attempt at interpreting those ideas in a fresh way left me feeling paralyzed…each idea looked strikingly like my usual work. Feeling vulnerable, distressed and frustrated, I asked my twitter friends for help, suggestions, ideas….I needed to break free but felt I didn’t know how.

“Blind Line drawings”….Mark (@Art_News) said.
“Morning pages” …Andrew (@Winsorandnewt) said.
“Just begin” …Tim (@elephantbird) said.
“Patience” … Luis (@luisdoamaral) said.
“It will come in time, Shell” ….so many of you said.

So, after reflecting and writing, the feeling of being stuck began to materialize in a visual way. I tried to capture that feeling.  And so this is the beginning…

Quicksand
Ink on paper

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Recalling the beginning of things… which was more of a middle than a beginning, but still…

Back in 2009 when I first joined twitter, I joyfully found my way, surrounded by a thriving art community. Surely someone savvy  soon discovered Posterous.com as a place to share our artwork…word quickly spread and before long all of us had Posterous blogs. It was a wonderful time!  Such a supportive, caring, fun group of creatives all posting, sharing, commenting…not unlike the G+ community.

At the time, I was beginning the first of several transitions with my artwork and I was inspired to try some new techniques and broaden my style. Posterous became my testing ground as I began to experiment with ink and watercolor.

Time flowed and things changed. The buzz of Posterous eventually faded and recently it went dark for good after being acquired by Twittter. I felt the loss of that place mostly because my style of painting evolved so significantly there and scrolling through my Posterous blog offered a quick visual glimpse of that evolution.

So, here…I slowly begin the process of  re sharing my journey by recreating my original Posterous blog posts. I’ve posted many of these drawings and paintings before on G+, twitter and facebook, so forgive me the redundancy of posts that may look familiar to you. To my eye, it will be lovely to see them all in order and with their original words/thoughts. Of course I will post new work as it is ready to be shown,  as well surely share my photographs and music too…

And so, since every story has to begin somewhere….
©Michelle RummelImage

Leave a Reply

